• Shi Dongpeng (China) sets a new meet record of 13:52 in the 110mH
  • Angela Whyte (Cdn) sets a new meet record of 12:90 in the 100mH
  • Barbara Petrahn (Hungary) sets a new meet record or 23:48 in the 200m
  • Diane Cummins (Cdn) sets another record of 1:59:73 in the 800m
  • Nikki McEwen (USA) sets a new record in the Pole Vault at 4:45 m
  • Antoinette Wilks (Jamaica) sets a new meet record of 12.94 in the 100mH for women.
  • Adam Goucher (USA) wins the men’s 5000m in 13:21.13 to qualify for the 2005 world championships.
  • Hillary Edmonson (CAN) captures the women’s 1500m in 4:10.70
  • Matt Phillips (USA) sets a new meet and stadium record in the men’s Pole Vault in 5.53m.
  • Gary Reed (Victoria, Canada) wins his second consecutive 800m in a time of 1:46.39.
  • Travis Nutter (USA) sets a new meet record in the men’s Javelin with a throw of 72.36m.
  • Diane Cummins (Victoria, Canada) moves up to the 1500m and wins in a time of 4:10.52.
  • Laban Rotich (Kenya) races to a new meet record in mile with a time of 3:54.07, outpacing Victoria’s Graham Hood on the last lap. Five athletes run a Miracle Mile.
  • Albert Chepkirui (Kenya) cruises to a meet record in the 5,000m in a time of 13:10.93. This is the fastest 5000m run on BC soil.
  • David Galvan of Mexico sets a new meet record in the 3000m –7:51.90 — just ahead of Martin Keino (Kenya).
  • Daniel Gachera (Kenya) runs 3:58.49 for the first sub four-minute mile run in Victoria since John Walker in 1972.
  • The Track Classic receives IAAF Area Permit status.
  • Diane Cummings (Victoria) runs to an easy win in the 800m as a warm-up for her 5th place finish in 2001 IAAF World Championships.
  • Shane Niemi (Canada) runs the second fast 300m of the year — 32.43.
    Zach Whitmarsh (Victoria) outraces the Kenyans in final corner to win in 1:46.12 and sets a new meet record.
  • The Kenyan’s sweep the men’s 5000m. (Jackson Koech – 13:26.17 George Okworo – 13:28.94 Boaz Kisang, – 13:31.94) Boaz Kisang goes on to win NCAA cross-country six months later
  • Bernard Lagat (Kenya) runs 1:47.68 to finish just ahead of Kevin Sullivan (Canada) 1:48.05. Both went on to the Sydney Olympic Games to finish 3rd and 5th in the 1500m.
  • Clyde Colenso (South Africa) narrowly misses the four-minute-mile running 4’00.16.
  • Victoria International Track Classic is re-born with a new format and 3000 spectators in the stands.
  • The Mexican’s dominate the first six places in the Men’s 5000m with David Galven winning in 13:27.99.
  • Victoria’s Robyn Meagher battles Claire Taylor from USA in Women’s 1500m to finish second by 0.6 sec
  • Nora Rocha (Mexico) wins the 5000m in 15:30.75 — one of many races at she will win the Track Classic.
  • Ray Stewart, Jamaica set a new meet record in the 100m in a time of 10.19
  • Stacey Dragila, future Olympic gold medalist, wins women’s pole vault.
  • The Mexicans dominate the men’s 5000m winning in 13:35. 29 and taking the first three spots.
  • Victoria’s Zach Whitmarsh emerges on the international track scene and wins the 400m in 47.49.
  • T. Kuprivanovich, Blarus sets the meet record in 800m in 2:00.84
  • A new meet record in the women’s 200m is set by Sweden’s Maria Staapgard.
  • Centennial Stadium is resurfaced for the upcoming Commonwealth Games. 3000 additional seats are added along with a warm-up track.
  • Tom Putskys from the USA sets the new Javilin record of 83.10m
  • Gustavo Castillo, Mexico sets the meet record in 3000m S/C: 8:34.63
  • Jesus Herrera, Mexico sets meet record in 10,000m: 28:04.04. Carey Nelson, former UVic athlete finishes in second place 1/100s behind.
  • Steve Scott wins the 1000m in record time: 2:19.23
  • Steve Scott wins the 1000m ahead of Canada’s Simon Hoogewerf
  • Victoria’s Dave Campbell wins the 1500m for the second year in a row.
  • The first annual Victoria International Track Classic is held three months prior to the Olympic Games in Seoul Korea.
  • Victoria’s Dave Cambell outraces Peter Rono (Olympic gold medalist in Seoul) to setting the meet record of 3:39.28 for 1500m.